top of page
Writer's pictureDivyum Goyal

A letter to Harry from Snape

Dear Harry,


//

I'll write you a poem,

That you can read from time to time,

A tale of how we could have been,

In a world where we were not strangers and bound by misunderstandings,

Like a shadow

My eyes always searched for you,

And I still search for you in the silence of our years at Hogwarts,

In the silence of our last moments together,

In the eyes of your mother Lilly,

In the halls of Gryffindor that made us proud.


//

Fear of death is more painful than death itself. Death comes for us all in the end, in some form or the other, but I believe memories are immortal. We have all got both light and dark inside us, but what matters is the path we decide to move on. That's who we are. You made me proud every single day at Hogwarts. Though I have always been a conflicted and questionable man to you, for me you have always been my only support in Hogwarts. Although I know we have had boundaries of words, the emotions that I have for you surpass every border whatsoever. Was it my responsibility to silently guard you against every possible danger? No, it was just my love for you and Lilly. I will always be grateful to you for being the light to my darkness. Although I was never brave enough to express my love and care to you, I let those boundaries grow for the better.


You have your mother's eyes, you have her essence and her presence is still somewhere living in you. Over the seven years at Hogwarts, I have learned a lot from you, but what outshines everything is the determination and strength you have no matter what brutalities life throws in your path. I will always silently cheer for you whispering invisible spells to guard you.



// Know that I am with you every second,

Charming invisible spells still to guard you,

And guide you back home,

Our Patronus will always find you in the dark,

I still wish our last conversation to last forever,

I wish I could hold myself back,

But, I had to go,

The Slytherin who died like a Gryffindor.

//


You and Lilly are like memories that no one can steal. To a well-organized mind, death is nothing but a great adventure. I know I have to go, But we are connected with this invisible string that reminds us of simpler days and happiness.

I will still love and find you wherever you are. You will always be in my heart,



And,

As Dumbledore asked,


After all this time?

Always...

Always...


For you and Lilly.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page