top of page
Writer's pictureTushar Mudai

The Branch




A fortnight, not long ago,

I was walking, and the rain started to pour,

The winds were blowing, remarkably fast,

Lest I walked, thinking they'd surpass.


Suddenly I heard a loud sound,

That made me turn, all the way around.

A branch from a tree had fallen,

And it weighed maybe, fifty pounds?


It was large enough, to finish me,

Within seconds - one two three.


I was a few steps ahead of it,

But what if I had stopped for a bit?

Or what if I had,

Walked a few rounds faster?

So that I would've been

Right underneath it, oh a disaster.


I stopped right there, and I wondered,

That branch could’ve had me, sundered.


Moments later, my mother calls,

Tells me to come home, as harder the rain falls.

I make my way out of the park,

As the lightning, begins to spark.


On my way towards home,

I try to make an epitome,

That life can blink right past you,

Without you having any clue.


So stop worrying, about the future and fate,

And try to make your present great.

Live, laugh, and love, my friends,

How you appreciate life, on you it depends.

 

133 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page