top of page
Writer's pictureHarshita Dangwal

A Letter to Rose Hathaway

Dearest Rose,


It was yesterday when I was at the camp with my friends when we decided to gather around the campfire for storytelling as a part of our camp tradition. With mutual agreement, it was decided that we narrate a tale about the most influential woman we have met. Needless to say, I told them all about you. (Don’t worry, it was all good stuff only! Or was it? :P)

I know I came to know about you when I was just 15 but trust me when I say that nobody does it like you! I can’t help but feel nostalgic- I have witnessed you grow from a reckless young teenager to a skilled, even the best guardian St Vladimir’s has ever had (still a lil' reckless though). Back when you and Princess Vasilisa Dragomir, your moroi best friend, had eloped from the academy, to get her somewhere safe, I couldn’t understand your actions. Heck, I was even puzzled why you would leave the safe grounds of the academy and risk both of your lives to strigoi! But when Dimitri and other guardians tried to take you back to the academy, you picked up a great fight even though you were a novice. That’s when I knew, you and Dimitri shared a beautiful connection and I was right! He was assigned as your instructor and was always there for you. I still remember the first time you held the silver stake and how perfectly Dimitri trained you for facing all the odds. I know, I know, you never failed to mention it- "Dimitri is a god," but who knew a man so strong, so built, and so cautious could fall for someone so reckless and as strong-headed as you. But then, they say opposites attract!


I told them all about your strigoi kills over the years and how even with the untrustworthy moroi queen Tatiana and royal decree, you managed to pull off adventures and were successful always. I adore Adrian, too, and I get it, choosing between Adrian and Dimitri was never an easy task. When you needed him, he was always there for you and I loved that about him. With your relentless ways to change the Moroi and Dhampir complications with a constant ingrained reminder of “they come first, ” you always fought like a goddess. It must have been useful to have a bond of support with Lissa while she harnessed her spirit like a magical ability! Be it fighting villains like Victor Dashkov, teaching school bullies a lesson, or fighting alongside Dimitri against the strigoi army, you always emerged as a winner.


I miss your bond with Sidney, too! I hope you are keeping up with her. And Christian and Mia and Jill - Geez! you are lucky to have such wellwishers. I hope Abe and Janine meet you often, being your parents, they sure do have a lot of business to handle in their own domains. Just wanted to say thanks for existing, literally. In spite of all your recklessness and impulsive behaviour, you still have a lot of compassion and duty in your heart. Maybe I’ll visit you again soon, after all, who forgets the infamous Rose Hathaway- The fierce Guardians?


Always in awe and deep respect,

Harshita Dangwal


 

P.S.- All of my friends seemed amazed by you and oh! they wanted to meet Rhonda for a possible tarot reading and well, it’s a bonus if Ambrose is there too; they would love a massage by the handsome dhampir! ;)


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page